About The Council

Get to know your community council

Pen-y-Cae Community Council consists of 14 members, 8 representing the Eitha Ward and 6 representing the Groes Ward.  The present Council was elected in 2022 and will serve until 2027.  Should a vacancy arise anytime during this period it will be advertised in the village.  Anyone who has an interest in the work of the Council is free to apply. 

Meetings of the Council are held on the fourth Monday of every month apart from August and December.  The meetings are held in the Community Centre, Hall Street, Pen-y-Cae and start at 7p.m.  Meetings can alternatively be arranged at the Church of the Nazarene upon request. Any elector is allowed to attend meetings, and are allowed to comment on any issues pertinent to them with permission from the Chair.  Minutes of Full Council Meetings are displayed here on our website, in the Library at Rhos and the 2 shops in Pen-y-Cae once they have been ratified.  Anyone wishing to see copies of specific minutes must contact the Clerk. Alternatively you can view them in the minutes section on here. 

The council is funded via a precept received from Wrexham County Borough Council.  This precept is raised through your Council Tax. There are two paid members of staff – the Clerk and the Community Agent.  The members do not receive an allowance and give up their time for free.  The Council’s accounts are audited on an annual basis by both an Internal and External Auditor.

The Council is insured with Zurich Municipal.

The Community Council has adopted Standing Orders and a Code of Conduct

The Chair for 2023 - 2024 is Cllr.June Jones The Vice-chair is Cllr. Dr Sian Evans

Clerk to the Council is Sian Andrews.